Ned, why are you doing this?

Good question, and one I’ve asked myself. I guess the answer goes back four or five years. At the time I was out of work, pretty down, and focusing everything I had on finding a new job. My wonderful wife “volunteered” me to go with a church group down to Haiti for a week to see what could be done to help those folks. I couldn’t believe it. I couldn’t take a week off from my job hunt. In her wisdom she explained that doing this was exactly what I needed. So, I took a leap of faith and “got out of myself” to do something radically different. And it was one of the best things I’ve ever done for myself.

So, now I’m out of work again. I don’t need to go to Haiti. I’ve been there and seen what it’s like. I don’t need to be convinced of the need to help. I’m taking a different leap of faith this time. I’m setting my sights on somehow getting a kayak, a trailer, and all the other small and large things I’ll need for this adventure. I’ll need to get myself in shape physically and, of course, find a job. I won’t be able to do this without a perm job that provides insurance.

It is a leap of faith. I believe that somehow, with the help of my friends, this can be done. I’m sure there will be many problems to overcome but, I have faith that it’s all possible.

So, that’s the real reason for all this nonsense. Now, time to have some fun and build a navy!

2 responses to “Ned, why are you doing this?

  1. Hi Ned! I applaud your enthusiasm and drive. Keep it up! I know whatever you put your mind, body and soul to, you will accomplish. I’d love to hear how things progress. Hi to Sharon – Beth

  2. Hi Ned! What an awesome idea! And what a wonderful way to give back(the previous trip to Haiti and this adventure!). So you have our thoughts and prayers for a kayak, a job that appreciates your tale t and all of the pieces to come together on this to make it happen!

    Much love and encouragement,
    Linda, Karen and Sydney!
    XOXOXOXOXOXO

Leave a Reply

