The power of prayer

When we were in Haiti one of the women we met told us they were praying for us. Haitians really do admire Americans and appreciate what we’re doing for them. And over the last few months I’ve been drawing on those reserves of prayer from Haiti, from lots of rosaries being said by my Catholic friends, from the prayers of my Baptist “Prayer Warrior” friends, all kinds of other prayers being said, and the good thoughts and wishes of all of you as I work toward the MR340.

And it’s working. The boat is on a truck and on the way to Shreveport. There are now 108 of you signed up as members of the White Rock Navy. The pledges total $616.00 and a number of people have said they’ll be pledging. Thanks to Leslie, Ann, Steve, Rosalie, Carol, Dorothy, Stu, Schuree, Kathy, and Mike for stepping up to help with this already. Raising awareness and money for the efforts in Haiti is my first goal but I’d also like to print up White Rock Navy t-shirts for all of you. So, if anyone has a company interested in advertising their name on the back of these shirts, on the boat, and on the blog – let me know! 70 days before the cannon goes off in Kansas City and the race starts and still a long way to go.

Just as important as the fundraising, though, is your willingness to let me intrude with the reality of things in Haiti. Life in the US can sometimes be insulated. We forget that there are people not too far from us who are hungry every day and who don’t have nearly the opportunities we take for granted. But just as often it’s good for us to be reminded of these realities. To be grateful for what we have.

Stay tuned for a post in a couple of days with pictures of the new boat. And thanks again.

Ned

2 responses to “The power of prayer

  1. Sharon Flottman

    Miracles are truly happening in our lives. As much as I don’t want to move to Shreveport, or anywhere for that matter, I can see it is part of a bigger plan. Our new Mantra is “Block it or Bless it”. It is amazing what is transpiring! Mrs. Captain Ned (Sharon)- the only time I will refer to myself in that way because the visual I have from that is……..weird.
    – Show quoted text –
    – Show q

  2. Dorothy Grindstaff

    We as Americans do take everything for granted but I have to say we also are the the frist to jump in to help out whatever country needs it.
    I am looking forward to you quest. I am also enjoying reading about it.
    Next I am looking forward to this reunion that is almost upon us.
    Take care and good luck Ned.
    Your friend,Dorothy

Leave a Reply

