Bragging Rights

Hi, Everyone. My name is Elisabeth, I’m the daughter of “Captain Ned”. As my dad paddles down the Missouri River this week, I’m going to be taking over the blog and providing you with updates so that you can track his progress and see how far he’s gone. Though, if you ask me, he’s made a heck of a lot of progress already and the race hasn’t even started yet!

To travel 340 miles in anything other than a comfy, air-conditioned, gas-powered vehicle requires a level of determination, sacrifice and physical exertion that is almost incomprehensible to me. For years my dad has encouraged me and my two brothers to seek out adventure, to do what we think is impossible, to take on the unknown. When I’ve be scared or tired, in the times when I’ve doubted myself, he’s always been there to talk me through it, to stand on the sidelines and cheer me on. Now, here we are and it’s my turn to cheer for him and I’ve never been more proud. Lately it seems as if every conversation turns into one where I’m bragging about my dad. I just can’t help myself. In fact, I think I might have gone and done it again here on the blog.

As of last night over 5,000 dollars in pledges has been raised. That’s about 15 dollars a mile which will all go the The Haitian Pilgrims! Money that we all know they so disparately need and that will keep my dad going when he’s feeling tired and sore. It’s been incredibly touching to sit and read the supportive comments from all of you. If you comment during the race, I’ll do my best to convey those messages to my dad while he’s on the river. We are all so grateful for your prayers and support.

Dad, I know you can do it! You’ve already come so far. Only 340 more miles to go! I love you and I’ll see you at the finish line!

10 responses to “Bragging Rights

  1. Hi, this is Shannon! I work with Ned at Centerpoint. I am checking in periodically through the day to see how Ned is doing. We have been asking him about the race for weeks, and we are all excited to see him finish this race.

    And, we all know that Ned will FINISH the race!

    Elizabeth your dad is a great, and we all enjoy working with him at CenterPoint. Please let Ned know that we will all be praying and waiting to hear of his AWESOME adventure.

    Shannon

  2. elisabethflottman

    Shannon, I’ll pass on the message to my dad. Thanks for supporting him and cheering him on!

    Can’t wait to start getting updates on his progress!

  3. Elisabeth – this is Cathy, from Laramie, WY. – I grew up next door to your dad on Lilly Jean in Woodson Terrace, MO. He has always had a special place in my heart. I hope the river is swift but kind, the wind is at his back, and his arms hold out! Give him our greetings and a big hug. I had planned on being there at the start, and was a month ago, but can’t make it this time. Tell Sharon and Tim hello – Cathy (Sanford) Harokopis

  4. Elisabeth – this is Cathy, from Laramie, WY. – I grew up next door to your dad on Lilly Jean in Woodson Terrace, MO. He has always had a special place in my heart. I hope the river is swift but kind, the wind is at his back, and his arms hold out! Give him our greetings and a big hug. I had planned on being there at the start, and was a month ago, but can’t make it this time. Tell Sharon and Tim hello – Cathy (Sanford) Harokopis
    My Niece Wendy might be there – She is a great photographer, hope she gets some good pics

  5. Lord Almighty, keep Ned safe as he sets out on this ambitious goal. Surround him with your guardian angels. Thank you for placing this dream upon his heart.

  6. Hi Elizabeth, My name is Ann Maria, I am friend of your mom, Sharon & know your dad through her.What a great blog you wrote..I am sure he is as proud of you as you are of him:) He is taking on a great challenge for a wonderful cause and my prayers & positive thoughts go with him & the team as they begin their journey tomorrow..

  7. Elisabeth- This is your dad’s friend Jim H. and it’s great that you are heading up the communications reporting. Your dad has been training for this and he will do a great job. The reward for your dad is not if he comes in first, second or or even finishes(I know he will) it’s the good that will come to the Haitti people as a result of your dad’s determination and the money raised. You should be very proud of him.

    Jim H.

  8. Hi Elisabeth—-please convey to your dad that I am also proud of him and will be checking the blog throughout the race! I agree that he has done so much already, and that he is ready to go!

  9. Hi Elisabeth, It will be great getting “real time” updates from you. So much better than waiting for what will be a mesmerizing blog from Ned when the race is over. I work with Sharon and she has been so supportive of Ned’s involvement in the race. Wonderful people, both of them,and great friends as well. If good wishes and prayers will push that kayak then Ned will be at every checkpoint with time to spare. Go Ned!!!! – Donna DuJardin

  10. Elisabeth, This is Schuree from Osage Beach- Lake of the Ozarks. Your dad and I were friends back in the day. I would rather not say a year because that would make us old. Tell him good luck from me. He is a great guy.

Leave a Reply

