Safe and sound in St. Louis

Well, I’m sitting at the breakfast table enjoying a coffee and counting the muscles that are NOT sore. I think there are only three or four. Seriously though, I’m moving around (slowly) and still alive.

I finished near the back of the pack… but I finished. And it was one of the greatest experiences of my life. I don’t plan on doing it again though. One of the other racers, who had lived in Japan, told me there’s a saying over there. A wise man climbs Mount Fuji once. A fool does it twice. I think I’ll take that advice.

Thanks to everyone who’s supported me in this thing, my ground crew, everyone who’s prayed for me, and all of you who left messages on the blog. I’ll post more later with some pictures I took from the river. My arms want to go to the position of holding a paddle and my hands look like claws from being wrapped around the paddle shaft for four days – swollen and blistered. So it’s another cup of java for me and then up to the health club and the hot tub for a while. Tomorrow we’ll drive back to Shreveport and Monday it’s back to work.

Ned

13 responses to “Safe and sound in St. Louis

  1. Bryan & Cindy B.

    Hooray for Cap’n Ned!!!
    Finishing is everything and must be very satisfying after all your hard work and sacrifice.
    It was an UNBELIEVABLE FEAT! Praise God for bringing you thru. This proves you can do anything you set your mind to. We’re all extremely happy for you and the Haitian Pilgrims!

    – Bryan & Cindy

  2. Congratulations!!
    Great job! You finished about 350 miles ahead of me!

    Mike Frost

  3. Javi, Jessica and Noah

    Congratulations Ned we are so proud of you!!!! We can’t wait to see your pictures!

  4. To quote Ralph, “HOW ABOUT THAT NED!!”

  5. Bryan & Cindy B.

    Hooray for Cap’n Ned!!!

    Finishing is everything and I bet very satisfying for you after all the hard work and sacrifice. It was an UNBELIEVABLE FEAT to be sure! Praise God for bringing you thru. This proves you can do anything you set your mind to (Romans 8:28). We’re all extremely happy for you and the Haitian Pilgrims!

    Have a safe trip home – NO PADDLING!

  6. Thanks for the ‘after’ update. Have been wondering how you’re doing.
    I’m so happy that you finished. (Didn’t doubt YOU, but couldn’t rule out errant fish…) Well done and congratulations!
    Remember to get out of the car and walk around frequently on your trip home!

  7. Ned, I am so proud of you and happy for your accomplishment! I was so happy to see you paddle to the finish line and to be one of the first wave to greet you! You did it!

    Your friend,

    Eric

  8. Aweswome!!! Ned, I am proud of you. Many prayers were offered to support you along the way. Wishing you a much needed and well-deserved rest.
    What an AWESOME Feat.. To say you have accomplished, how wonderful this is for Haiti.
    God Bless you …
    Can’t wait to see the pictures of the end of the race. You can put as many on your Flickr account as you want now.

  9. Los Humungos Paddleos

    Ned:
    Awsome job on the race! You are truly a hero to many for your efforts. It was an honor to share the river with you. I hope we will meet again, but if we dont, I wish you all of the best in your future paddling endeavors. I am glad to call you a friend.
    Cheers,
    Wally

  10. The pictures are great and some beautiful scenic ones are awesome!
    Again congrats on your successful journey! You are our hero.

  11. Captain, My Captain
    You ROCK!!!
    What a story for your grandchildren!
    Thanks for keeping us so informed!
    Welcome home!
    Les

  12. Ned, you are awesome and a real inspiration. My boat name was Hondo, we met briefly at the safety dinner, then I saw you at least once each subsequent day out on the river. I was the racer who gave you the Mt. Fuji advice, never thought you would actually remember it verbatim though, so your mind was pretty sharp out there as well. Your family in Jeff City were also very kind to me and that was much appreciated. You showed real grit and determination and it was a pleasure to have met you. God bless in all your future ventures sir!

Leave a Reply

