Training update

Well, it’s back in the kayak again! Got out on the lake last weekend for my first real workout. My new friend, John (another old guy who’s signed up for the race), and I managed 15 miles. It took us about 4 hours. At the end we both got out of the boats, sat on the ground for a while, looked at each other, and asked what the heck we thought we were doing. At this rate we’ll be paddling more than 16 hours a day for the first two days of the Tour du Teche. I guess we can both forget showing up for the paddler’s dinner and party both those nights.

I do have a schedule worked out.  This weekend I’ll try for 20 miles. Then 25, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, back to 40, 45, 50, and 50. That leaves one weekend before the race – and I don’t plan on more than 10 or 12 miles, if that. During the week it’s weight training on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Aerobics on Tuesday and Thursday.

Meanwhile, my partners are hard at it. I talked to Christian a couple of weeks ago and he’s already hitting 30 miles at a shot. Jim’s hard at it, too. Not sure what kind of mileage he’s up to but he accuses me of trying to kill him so I  can split his  life insurance with his wife. I have faith that he’ll be able to do it, though, because he’s really in better shape than I am.

As all this is going on the ground crew is shaping up. Sharon has signed on for another adventure. And my sister, Liz, and her friend Mary will be coming down (if  we can find a ride for one o f them). So, for the four racers (Jim’s friend Joe is coming from St. Louis) we’ll have three Coureur’s des Boise in two vehicles. I figure Sharon can concentrate on Christian, since he’ll be out in front, while Liz and Mary take care of Jim, Joe, and me.

On the gear front, my sense is that I’m ready to go. I don’t know about the rest of these guys, though. I hope they’re thinking about all the little things they’ll need for something like this. Waiting until the last week to discover you’re not comfortable or your lights don’t work right, or you’ve forgotten something isn’t a great idea.

12 weeks until the boats hit the water. Lots to do to get the bodies in shape, and a lot of gear to accumulate and get used to. The invitation still stands to anyone who’d like to take a few days off and join us in south Louisiana. They’re billing this as the longest race interrupted by parties in the world.

By the way, thanks to those of you who’ve encouraged me once again with e-mails and comments on the blog. It’s good to hear from you.

OK, off to get my stuff together and in the car so I can be on the water at 7:00 tomorrow morning.

Ned

2 responses to “Training update

  1. You will do great… Another adventure to tack on and talk about. I say just keep em coming and keep enjoying….

  2. Glad to hear the update, keep on keepin’ on! 🙂

Leave a Reply

