The Last 25

Today is the last day of the Tour de Teche. It’s supposed to be the easiest and shortest day of the race but after two grueling days of paddling against the tide and through the night, these last 25 miles might prove to be the most challenging. I talked to Christian briefly last night and he said, “This is a mind game. I’ve been thinking I’m almost there for the last hour; I think the finish is just around the bend at every bend…and then it’s not.” 

I’m not sure when Christian got in but my dad was out on that river until 5:30. When he hit the last check point at around midnight, he decided the best course of action would be to wait for the next group of people to come in and then paddle with them. He was told they were approximately 15 minutes away but with the tide going against them, it was 2 hours before they made it in.

When my mom talked to my dad this morning, he could barely hold onto the phone because the wind was blowing so hard. She said his words were positive and optimistic but that she could hear in his voice the fear and exhaustion. At the beginning of the race there were 85 people and now, there are only 30.

My mom also talked to Kristy this morning and she said that it’s even taking the front runners much longer to finish the race then they had expected. This morning Christian’s boat got stuck in a tangled mess of weeds and what I’m guessing were water lilies (?). She pushed him as far out as she could, but eventually he had to paddle himself through it. We’re all hoping the frustration and anger he felt in that moment will carry him through the race. Sometimes that’s just what you need!

Thanks for all of your support, positive thoughts, prayers and comments! I’ll let you know as soon as I hear more.

One response to “The Last 25

  1. Can’t wait to hear all about it…

Leave a Reply

